Magistrate Court

Judges of the Magistrate Court


The Magistrate Court staff includes the Clerk of Court, 6 deputy clerks, 2 constables, and 2 judges. The Magistrate Courts of Georgia were established in 1983 when the current Georgia Constitution was ratified. The Constitution required the Magistrate Courts to replace the Justice of the Peace, and a variety of other small claims courts. Each county in the State of Georgia has a Magistrate Court.

The Lowndes County Magistrate Court is divided into 2 divisions the Civil Division and the Criminal Division.

Civil Division

The Civil Division handles monetary claims that are $15,000 or less. Any amount in excess of $15,000 should be filed in either the State or Superior Court of Lowndes County. Actions filed in the Magistrate Court include, but are not limited to:
  • Contract disputes
  • Dispossessory actions (evictions)
  • Personal injury
  • Suits on account
This court does not handle divorce, child support actions, or actions involving title to property. You may appear on your own behalf or may be represented by an attorney.

Criminal Division

The Criminal Division handles the issuing of arrest warrants for Lowndes County after probable cause has been determined. The Magistrate Court also conducts:
  • Bond hearings
  • First appearances
  • Ordinance hearings
  • Preliminary hearings


As of May 1, 2017
the service fee for the filing of Civil Suits, Garnishments, Person Property Writ of Possession, Interrogatories Personal Service and Reservice on all the above filings will be $50.00.

***Due to the substantial amount of requests for evictions being filed with the Court the eviction calendar is full.  Your writ requests may not be scheduled for several weeks. 

The Court is working diligently to expedite the process, but your patience is appreciated.

Thank you,
Magistrate Court